June 4, 2024

Audacy Honored with 20 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards Presented by The Radio Television Digital News Association

NewsRadio 1080 KRLD, WWJ Newsradio 950, KNX News 97.1 FM and WCBS 880 Win Distinguished “Overall Excellence” Award

Audacy was honored with 20 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards, presented by the Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) for outstanding achievements in broadcast and digital journalism. 

11 Audacy markets were honored, including Dallas, Detroit, New Orleans, New York, Philadelphia and San Francisco. NewsRadio 1080 KRLD in Dallas, WWJ Newsradio 950 in Detroit, KNX News 97.1 FM in Los Angeles and WCBS 880 in New York captured the distinguished “Overall Excellence” Award. 

Complete list of Audacy recipients below. 

Buffalo, NY

Remembering 5-14
NewsRadio 930 WBEN

Chicago, IL

Continuing Coverage
A Year of Transition: The Migrant Dilemma in Chicago
WBBM Newsradio 

Dallas, TX

Overall Excellence
NewsRadio 1080 KRLD

Breaking News Coverage
Shooting at the State Fair of Texas 
NewsRadio 1080 KRLD

Excellence in Innovation
JFK: 60 Years to the Moment
NewsRadio 1080 KRLD

Detroit, MI

Overall Excellence
WWJ Newsradio 950

Breaking News Coverage
Major Flooding at Detroit Metro Airport
WWJ Newsradio 950

Los Angeles, CA

Overall Excellence
KNX News 97.1 FM

Minneapolis, MN

New Orleans, LA

New York, NY

Overall Excellence
WCBS 880

Breaking News Coverage
Riot in Union Square
1010 WINS

Philadelphia, PA

The Manhunt for an Escaped Killer
KYW Newsradio

San Francisco, CA

Breaking News Coverage
The Death of Dianne Feinstein
KCBS Radio 

Excellence in Sound
Strike Music
KCBS Radio 

St. Louis, MO

Total Information AM | Friday May 5, 2023
News Radio 1120 AM and 98.7 FM KMOX

A complete list of Regional Edward R. Murrow Award winners can be found here. Regional winners automatically move on to the national round of consideration, which also includes digital news organizations and network competitors.

Among the most prestigious awards in news, the Murrow Awards recognize local and national news stories that uphold the RTDNA Code of Ethics, demonstrate technical expertise and exemplify the importance and impact of journalism as a service to the community. Murrow Award-winning work demonstrates the excellence that Edward R. Murrow made a standard for the broadcast news profession. RTDNA has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with these awards since 1971.

Ready to Make Audio Work for Your Brand?